.

Letter: Vote Yes on Prop. 30, Prop. 38

Mary Ann Garvey, treasurer of the University High School, writes a letter to the editor in support of the two education ballot initiatives.

Help our schools on Nov. 6 by voting yes on both Propositions 30 and 38!  California schools have the largest class sizes in the nation, they rank 50th out of the 50 states.  California schools also rank 47th nationally in per pupil spending. California voters have the opportunity to do something about this by voting yes on 30 and 38.

Voting for both 30 and 38 increases the likelihood that one of the initiatives will pass. A divided vote will make it more difficult to achieve the simple majority needed. Should both pass, the one with the largest majority will become law.  As Californians, we all need to contribute to improving our schools because we will all share in the benefits better schools will bring to our state’s economy and quality of life.

Proposition 30 will provide $6 billion a year in additional revenues for the first 4 years (2013 – 2016) with a ¼ cent increase in sales tax and a higher state income tax for earners over $250,000. The amount for the remaining 3 years (2017 – 2019) will be less since the revenues will be based only on the state income tax increase.

Proposition 38 will provide $10 billion a year in additional revenues for 12 years (2013 - 2024) with a progressive state income tax increase.  (You can find out what your additional tax obligation after all deductions will be at www.moneyforlocalschools.org/taxcalculator.) These funds will be in addition to the Proposition 98 guaranteed funding for schools. In the first 4 years of Proposition 38, 30% of the $10 billion raised will be used to pay off state debt, thereby freeing up funds in the state budget for other expenditures; 60% will go directly to K-12 schools and 10% will used for Early Care and Education for preschoolers. For the remaining 8 years Proposition 38 is in effect, 85% will go to schools and 15% for Early Care and Education. (You can find out how much your school(s) will receive during these 12 years at www.moneyforlocalschools.org/restore.)

Join me in voting yes on 30 and 38 to ensure that at least one of these propositions passes. California schools need more funding. That’s a fact! It is up to us voters to make sure our schools receive it.

Mary Ann Garvey       
Treasurer
University High School PTSA

A .pdf is attached showing a projected three-year sample of Prop. 38 funding for Brentwood area schools based on enrollment.
                                                                                                                                                                                    

Dave Francis October 30, 2012 at 08:47 PM
Obama is a tax and spend president and is ready to pass a massive, trillion dollar cost illegal alien amnesty. He is already ignoring federal immigration laws, which is going to attract even more illegal aliens from across the world, bring their unborn babies for American taxpayers to pay the delivery, health care, education and a bountiful basket of free programs including welfare payments for every child. The government itself has increased in size fort the more people living of the public trough, the more agencies need administrative staff. If you read the U.S. constitution the government the government was never meant to control our lives, as it has now. Obama will get the votes of the “Freeloaders” the “Don’t want to work” crowd and prefer to live their lives of the rest of us. The 47 percent that Mitt Romney discussed is not the infirm or handicapped. The open border zealots are in both political parties and only the TEA PARTY proponents will stop them. The costs will just accelerate and all to be paid by the public, while the instigators pay nothing. I was a true Democrat, but the party has been infiltrated by Communists and hard core Liberals, who see our country under the control of a Socialist experiment that has never worked. Without doubt if Obama gets his second term the 16 trillion dollar will escalate to pay for every illegal alien, scrounger and large part of the 47 percent of welfare vermin.
Dave Francis October 30, 2012 at 08:48 PM
The socialist experimental though mild has crushed self sufficiency in Europe and Greece is the epitome of failing society run by greedy trade unions and of course special interest groups. There social experiment hasn’t worked and European countries have had to count on asperity measure to save the European Union. America has been seduced by public assistance even to the 20 million plus illegal aliens and of course they are going to vote for this unpredictable president, with 37 Socialist czars, who are out to destroy our sense of self worth. Its a fact that the majority of Americans want nothing to do with Socialist programs and an agenda to propel the whole population into a George Orwell (1984) mentality of “Big Brother”. Then again I don’t trust the political backup of Mitt Romney Republicans, Wall Street and all the special interest groups in both parties. I am a free TEA PARTY moderate Conservative whose agenda is elevating America up from a potential gutter, to enforce the “Rule of Law”; to not apologize to dictatorship or criminal countries. To tell the truth about the massacre in Benghazi, which the mainstream press are saying almost nothing about; even to keeping the facts out of the headlines. The TEA PARTY mission is to bring awareness to any issue that challenges the Security, sovereignty or domestic tranquility or our beloved nation…THE UNITED STATE OF AMERICA.
Dave Francis October 30, 2012 at 08:49 PM
It doesn’t matter who takes the Commander in chief’s job, the ultimate public servants job in the Oval Office, but under the Obama regime the absolute promise of blanket immigration reform is sacrosanct. Should Mitt Romney take the Oval office, he could still be intimidated by the greed leeches, the K Street lobbyists and the elitists in his own party, to keep the illegal migrants and immigrants coming. I don’t not hold much hope in Obamas court, with his instance of nationalized health care system that is going to attract even more illegal aliens, his global dominance ideology and his pampering the murders from the Arab countries, cutting down of permits for our gas supplies and opening up America to more resources than any other place in the world. The man has ignored the “Rule of Law’ and passed a dream Act without the requirements of passing through the House. His rules and regulations are dragging our small businesses down and his commitment to hit the rich with more taxes will just limit commercial enterprise. He is an entitlement president to allow illegal aliens access to food stamps, our jobs.
Dave Francis October 30, 2012 at 08:49 PM
Our schools are swamped with foreign kids who have little understanding of the English language and traditions. It seems incredulous to me and a large majority of citizens and honest legal residence that either party would reward the illegal alien invaders with massive dollars, and that we are forced to pay for it all by the courts. In California for instance where the Sacramento assembly shields illegal aliens from the law. Two measures are being pushed by the Liberal Democrats known as measure 30 and 38; more money for education and schools. What these brain dead politicians who have been brought and sold by the Teachers Union, is they want taxpayers money to pay for the onslaught of illegal alien children, which for the last 2-3 decades have devastated the California educational system. Don’t vote for this travesty as it evens more taxpayer’s money going down the toilet.
Dave Francis October 30, 2012 at 08:50 PM
“THE BIRTHRIGHT CITIZENSHIP ACT, which will eliminate these entries, so at least one parent must have valid citizenship, for the child to gain citizenship. This would be very financially beneficial to U.S. taxpayers that would halt this activity, and would save over 100 billion dollars a year. This law will bring to halt illegal aliens bringing their children here to take advantage of our health services, educational system and many more free programs with cash benefits. Our borders still remain wide open in many places, including Canada for the illegal importation of drugs and people. Adding further to boundaries is THE LEGAL WORKFORCE ACT (E-Verify) should also be implemented, so businesses and the agricultural industry can no longer just hire illegal workers without penal implications and harsh fines. As we need temporary workers, then a fully regulated system should be installed as it was with the 1940’s “Bracero” Program. This worked well, but greedy politicians in collusion with the business community closed it down. Now we have a corrupt system that has been highlighted by many companies being raided by ICE and the owners punished.
Dave Francis October 30, 2012 at 08:50 PM
So getting back to the California state voting measures and probably in other states, illegal immigration is a very expensive situation, which needs a solution? But its not being continually taxed to pay for the illegal entry of illegal aliens and their children. Honest immigrants wait years to get an entry visa, while the other types get rewarded by Washington and individual states with a cornucopia of free welfare programs. The Legal Workforce bill could drive illegal aliens home, as if they cannot be hired, then they will leave. Instead of listening to my personal suggestions, go to TEA PARTY.ORG, NumbersUSA and JudicialWatch.org and you can judge the absolute financial negative effects of illegal immigration. Remember--this November it’s illegal and a felony for non citizens to vote, but then the Democrats have proven time and time again they don’t care who votes. Illegal or not?
Yet Another Republican October 31, 2012 at 04:43 AM
Props 30 and 38 are just another way to tax the middle class. Vote No 30 and 38.
Yet Another Republican October 31, 2012 at 04:43 AM
And Yes on 32
Rob October 31, 2012 at 05:35 PM
spoken like someone who has no idea how budget cuts effect education
William Riley October 31, 2012 at 10:45 PM
SAVE OUR CHILDREN FROM THE TEACHERS UNION! VOTE “YES on 32” and “NO on 30” The “California Teachers Association” they could care less about the children. Don’t be ignorant; don’t be fooled by their political ads. Here are just a few things you should read before you believe them when they say “it’s about the children” http://www.sacbee.com/2012/08/30/4770521/teacher-evaluations.html http://online.wsj.com/article/SB10000872396390444443504577601664135014368.html http://www.publicsectorinc.com/forum/2012/08/one-win-one-loss-as-californias-legislative-session-closes.html http://unionwatch.org/how-government-unions-intimidate-corporations/ http://spectator.org/archives/2012/08/29/a-tale-of-two-jerrys http://airmodal.com/2012/09/01/chutzpah-on-steroids/ http://www.city-journal.org/2012/cjc0716ls.html http://www.latimes.com/news/opinion/opinion-la/la-ol-sand-prop32-blowback-20120824,0,2890404.story http://articles.latimes.com/2012/aug/18/local/la-me-cta-20120819 http://www.city-journal.org/2012/22_2_california-teachers-association.html http://www.joannejacobs.com/2012/08/teachers-unions-go-on-the-defensive/ http://www.wcvarones.com/2012/08/guest-post-california-teachers-union.html
Vote NO on 30 & 38 and Yes on 32 November 01, 2012 at 09:28 AM
Prop 30 is throwing good money after bad. What was Brown smoking when he came up with this one. Vote NO on 30
rsergant November 01, 2012 at 11:04 AM
There are concerns that some people may sit out this election because we don't have much competition for President or Senator. But we have 2 very critical propositions that could effect California forever. Both President Clinton and League of Women Voters have come out strongly for Proposition 30 and strongly against Proposition 32. It is important that everyone vote and read the facts about these two propositions. Proposition 30 will bring badly needed money into our schools at all levels. Without the money, our children will have less days of schools, larger class size and less support systems. There is a shadowy group from Arizona that noone knows who they are that have dropped 11 million to oppose Prop 30. Arizona shadowy group should not determine California's fate. Calilfornia 32 is primarily being funded by Charles Munger, multibillionaire who inherited his money from his father. It is written so that all of the oil companies, large corporations and others would be exempt but it would severly impact union organizing to have an effective voice. Either we truly limit everyone or we don't just limit one group in order to control our state. Please read the facts, vote and share your decision with others so we can truly be effective as voters. California future is in your hands and the hands of everyone you know.
rsergant November 01, 2012 at 11:06 AM
How Proposition 30 Impacts CCUSD (info from the CCUSD news blast) The CCUSD Board of Education has passed a resolution supporting the passage of Proposition 30, "The Schools and Local Safety Protection Act of 2012." It is important to note that the failure of Proposition 30 would result in a reduction of an estimated $441 per student statewide. What would that mean to CCUSD? This would equate to a funding reduction to our Culver City Unified School District of $2,910,124 in the current school year (2012-2013), with projected reductions of $2,903,763 in 2013-2014, and $2,904,465 in 2014-2015. "We encourage all Culver City voters to review the information and the impacts of all the propositions and, especially, Proposition 30 before they head to the polls on November 6," said Superintendent Dave LaRose. Did you know ... * That the current California state budget assumes the successful passage of Proposition 30? * That California's per student spending has already been cut by $1,105 per student since 2008? * That Proposition 30 prohibits revenues from initiative from being used for administrative costs? * That Proposition 30 would generate $6 billion in 2012-13 through 2016-17; plus smaller amounts in 2017-18, and 2018-19? * That Proposition 30 would be funded by a ¼ cent sales tax increase for 4 years, and up to a 3% increase in personal income tax for high-income earners (>$250,000) for 7 years?

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »